Re: FAA regs & GPS barometers

Message posted by JB737 on May 27, 2007 at 18:19:06 PST:

You're probably right, except that if Groom were following FAA regulations, then I think they'd have more than 1 flight attendant on each packed JANET 737 flight.

It's 20 years since I was a pilot, so I am not sure if each VOR and/or airport gets its own weather forecast now, or if sometimes they just use a generic one for the area. The latter might make sense in a flat area with many airports.

My hiking GPSes are indeed both Garmin Vistas, with barometer. I generally disable it, though, partly to save battery, and partly due to the mysterious and apparently rather horrible algorithim they use in auto-calibration mode.

I suspect that their recalibration decision algorithm assumed lousy GPS altitude accuracy back in the old SA days. And even back then, auto-calibrate seemed to be far worse than turning auto-calibrate off.

I try to manually calibrate the barometric elevation to equal the known elevation. Failing that, I calibrate it to equal the GPS elevation, somewhere that I can reasonably expect to be able to check the true elevation of later. Often this means either on a large, flat area where I mark a GPS waypoint, or a peak or other marked point on a topo map.

It is best to do this at the beginning of a hike, and again at the same point, at the end. If done at intermediate points, I try naming my waypoint to remind me of what I did there, or actually make a note of it.

Unfortunately I did only 1 calibration on my Easter hike, and for the most part left the barometer off. Hence, I relied primarily on GPS elevations. The good news is that it was a reasonable match to my preprogrammed route waypoints, the names of which I always put the Google Earth or USGS elevation into (e.g., A5450, B5675, whatever). It seemed to chug along just fine, generating the elevation profile of my hike as I went, apparently using GPS elevation.