Re: George Knapp article

Message posted by Homersonic on June 27, 2003 at 21:51:31 PST:

In my opinion (and I must preface this by noting that I am not an expert on the Area 51 situation, just George Average College Student), I think Mr. Knapp hit it on the head when he suggested that this is a convenient preface to either a land grab, or frankly, just a convenient time to do something like this.

If Mr. Clark is a "pain in the arse," why not remove him under the auspices of "Protecting the Nation From Terrorism"?

It's very convenient in this time to remove annoyances. They're doing it all over the Metro Detroit area, where I live, and where there are a LOT of Arab Americans. Some of the raids, busts, wiretappigns, etc. have been valid; the great majority of them are simply a violation of the Bill of Rights and the Constitution, excused because this is a difficult time.

The line between protecting the nation, which I feel IS important, and doing harm to a hardworking, loyal American citizen because it's convenient to eliminate any perceived threat in this political climate.

If you'll pardon the mini rant:

I understand that it's very important to protect the U.S. right now. I know that a lot of people work very hard so I can finish my degree and become another moderately successful blue-collar guy. I appreciate greatly the work and sacrifices that people make to ensure that I can live my little life in safety.

But it really bothers me that when somebody stands up and questions the goverment, or when somebody is even ever so slighly "suspicious" in the government's eyes right now, it's OK to raid Chuck Clark's trailer or wiretap Mahmoud who works at the party store on Michigan Avenue under the auspices of "antiterrorism."