copyright

Message posted by Angus Batey on January 12, 2012 at 0:04:41 PST:

This is a subject I know a fair bit about, though my focus is on the UK not the US: the laws are broadly similar though there are differences in detail.

As a general rule of thumb, copyright in any creative work - which includes photographs and written posts to online discussion forums - belongs to the person who created that piece of intellectual property (the image; the arrangement of words) UNLESS that person has sold or given away their copyright to someone else.

Normally you have to sign a contract to assign your copyright to someone else - I'm a freelance journalist and it's increasingly common for client publications to issue writers with a contract that specifies that any work we do for them becomes their property and we have to surrender all rights in it (usually they demand these rights without offering any extra payment: with a very small number of exceptions, I never sign such contracts, but a lot of people do).

Another way you would not own copyright in your intellectual property is if you create that work during the course of your employment - in which case, your employer would own the rights. So, a journalist on staff of a newspaper or magazine doesn't own the copyright in the work they do, it belongs to the publisher - and a photographer employed by USAF will not own the copyright in the images they shoot at work, that'll belong to the US government (though any pictures they shoot at home or on holiday with their own equipment will be their private copyright). How this might apply to forum posts people make while sat at their work computer I don't know - clearly you're not "doing your job" if posting here from work (unless there really *is* an Area 51 "mole" doing a Disinfo op here...!), but you are using your employer's resources and are doing it on their dime so I imagine if they found out and there was some value to them in it they may wish to enforce a claim.