Introducing Myself - Tour Idea

Message posted by Trevor on July 06, 2004 at 18:26:58 PST:

Hi All,

I've been hanging out on this and other lists for quite some time and have learned a great deal from all of the incredibly knowledgeable people on this list. I felt like it was time to formally introduce myself and describe what I am doing here.

My name is Trevor and I’m an artist and a geographer. Right now I’m working on the connections between incarceration and military activity, and am using Groom Lake/Nellis as one case study and Pelican Bay prison here in California as the other. Some people talk about the Military Industrial Complex, others about the Prison Industrial Complex --- I’m talking about the connections between the two. I will be working on this project, which I intend to turn into a book, over the next three years or so. I would absolutely love to talk to many people on this list about their own research at some point in the not-too-distant future. I have talked at professional geography conferences about how much “academic” geographers have to learn from the research that many of you have done and continue to do. Keep up the good work!

More immediately, I am working on an art project about the Nellis Area. I think that the sorts of images on websites like Dreamlandresort, LazyRanch, Bluefire, and Desert Secrets all capture a really interesting kind of aesthetic that I’m interested in. I know that there are tons of incredible photographers and recordists on this list who know much more about this topic than I can every hope to learn, but your advice has been and continues to be invaluable. I really appreciate how generous people on this list are with their advice and knowledge. If anyone on this list would consider collaborating with me to produce and exhibit some of this material, I’d love to talk about what that might entail. My email is at the bottom of this message.